Portfolio task and assignment: Collecting and editing
The following section describes how a learner can collect an available portfolio task (portfolio binder with assignments based on a portfolio template) in a course and edit it.
To do this, you first have to call up the course in which the portfolio task is located and select the corresponding course element.
(Open the course where the portfolio task is located.)
Collect portfolio task
Find Portfolio task
Select the course element portfolio task. Click the button "Collect portfolio task ".
Now, the portfolio task is collected and your portfolio is saved in "My portfolio binders".
(For the next access you can open the portfolio task directly in the portfolio.)
The next time the portfolio task is accessed, it can be opened either via the link in the course or directly in the personal portfolio.
Folders picked up from courses are marked with a red left border and contain the reference to the associated course.
Edit portfolio task
Open portfolio. Depending on how the instructor has pre-structured the portfolio assignment, different areas of portfolio assignments are available.
Click on a folder area in either the "Overview" or "Entries" tab and "Select a task for editing". Subsequently, the associated task and the editing editor are visible. (Open in "My portfolio binders" the corresponding portfolio template.)
Now the tasks can be edited and suitable artefacts can be added within the portfolio editor and suitable content (text, images, videos, etc.) and artifacts can be added via the Portfolio editor.
If the portfolio task contains forms, these can also be completed.
If the configuration of the Portfolio 2.0 template allows, a user can add new entries or delete the collected binder.
The processing status of a portfolio task is indicated by the color and symbol marking. The details are explained in the lower legend in the portfolio. For example, a red lightning bolt in the "Overview" tab symbolizes that a task has not yet been selected, or a green check mark that the task has already been published.
(With the coloured marks the status of the different portfolio tasks is visible at a glance, for example:
- The red lightning under "Overview" shows that a task has not been collected yet.
- The yellow spot indicates that the task is in edit mode and has not been published yet.
- Tasks with a blue spot are already published. )
Under "Entries" all assigned tasks which have not been collected yet are available in a dropdown list. Collected tasks will be shown under the portfolio section title.
During editing the status of the entry/assignment is "Draft".
As soon as the entry/assignment is done, "Publish entry" can be selected. This makes the editing visible to other people who have access to the portfolio, and feedback or comments are possible.
As soon as the entry of a portfolio template is published, it cannot be modified by the user anymore, but commented. So learners should be aware to only publish entries and tasks when finished.
To allow another user or teacher to comment on or grade an portfolio assignment, it must be shared. Portfolio binders can be shared with other OpenOlat users (teachers, learners) and external persons.
Also binders from courses are not visible by default for the course owner.
Gehen Sie für die Freigabe wie folgt vor:
a) Open the tab "Access control".
b) Select the link "Add access rights" on the top right.
c) Select the desired option, e.g. "Select course owner", to add the corresponding group of people or individual. For sharing with external persons, even without an OpenOlat account, select "Add invitation". Invitations will then be sent by e-mail will be sent.
d) Chose the sections and entries for which you want to give access control for grading and commenting. External persons only can comment, but not grade.
You can send an email with a portfolio binder link as well.
e) Finally save the configuration (for external persons) or finish the dialog (for OpenOlat user).
When starting to edit a portfolio, users should add the corresponding coaches to the access control already. If entries will be published, they will be visible for the coach directly. However, editing the solution is then no longer possible.